2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2013 1:54 PM by Stefano Grioni

Aggregate amounts using multiple criteria and then comparing them to eachother

Stefano Grioni

Hello,

First of all, I must point out that although I have quite some experience in SQL and some BI tools, I am fairly new to Tableau; apologizes if my question spans from a wrong understanding of how Tableau handles aggregation.

My data set is normalized so that each entry, corresponds to one particular financial element of one particular invoice:

Capture.PNG

This is very helpful to us since in the table we also track discounts, which can vary between markets, geographies,...

My challenge is that I would like to do comparative analyses on the amounts sales/profit, aggregated by InvoiceID (and then from there, by Invoice type etc.).

If I would translate my request into SQL, it would result in:

SELECT a.[Invoice ID], a.P/b.S FROM

(SELECT  [Invoice ID], SUM(Amount) as P FROM my_table WHERE [Discount type] = 'Profit' GROUP BY [Invoice ID]) a

JOIN

(SELECT  [Invoice ID], SUM(Amount) as S FROM my_table WHERE [Discount type] = 'Sales' GROUP BY [Invoice ID]) b

ON a. [Invoice ID] = b. [Invoice ID]

Do you understand what I am trying to achieve?

Thank you very much,

Sincerely,

Stefano

• 1. Re: Aggregate amounts using multiple criteria and then comparing them to eachother
          Tracy Rodgers

Hi Stefano,

I'm not the greatest with SQL, Alex Kerin may have some insight on this--I think this logic can be used in Tableau's SQL.

From a the standpoint of not using SQL in Tableau, I would probably reshape the data so that Sales and Profit were each in their own columns. Then, a calculated field could be created similar to the following and place Invoice ID on the rows/columns shelf:

sum(Sales)/sum(Profit)

The following KBs gives more details about how to set up an Excel sheet and using the Re-shaper Tool:

http://kb.tableausoftware.com/articles/knowledgebase/preparing-excel-files-analysis