4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2013 12:57 PM by Chris Foster

Dual Axis: correctly pairing Longitudes and Latitudes?

Chris Foster

Hi -

I'm trying to use Dual Axis view to map two pairs of longitude and latitude coordinates onto the same background image, and I can't figure out a way to ensure that data is only plotted for the correct pairings of longitude and latitude. Is there a technique or trick that I've missed?

(WARNING: I'm new to Tableau, and may be tripping over fairly obvious-in-hindsight newbie problems.)

The goal is to plot two X/Y positions over time, using the Pages card to visualize their motion as a timestamp increments.

Each record of my database contains these fields (among others):

• alpha_X (dimension, latitude, continuous)
      • alpha_Y (dimension, longitude, continuous)
      • beta_X (dimension, latitude, continuous)
      • beta_Y (dimension, longitude, continuous)
      • time_index (dimension, discrete)

My goal is to have this result in two coordinates, (alpha_X,alpha_Y) and (beta_X,beta_Y), animating across the map using time_index in the Pages card to drive the animation.

Here's what I've set up:

• I'm using a custom background image, with appropriate coordinate scaling
      • both X's and used as columns
      • both Y's are used as rows.
      • Both X's and Y's are set to be Dual Axis
      • Each X was set with a different Mark Type to allow them to be given different shapes, colors etc.
      • time_index was dragged into Pages.

The result of this is that I have FOUR marks:

• (alpha_X,alpha_Y), mark type Alpha = CORRECT
      • (beta_X,beta_Y), mark type Beta = CORRECT
      • (alpha_X,beta_Y), mark type Alpha = INCORRECT
      • (beta_X,alpha_Y), mark type Beta = INCORRECT

So it appears that it's plotting both Y values for each X value. Which leads to a bunch of questions:

• Is there something I can do -- maybe via Level of Detail -- to cause Tableau to exclude the errant coordinate pairs?