5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2013 7:28 AM by Tom Barnes

Calculated field using a dynamic value

Tom Barnes

So newbie here.  Have been working with Tableau for a couple of weeks.  This is my first time trying out the forum.  So here is what I am trying to do.  I have a field with week numbers formatted 201101, 201102 etc.  What I need to do is create a YTD Sales field.  So I grab the correct year which is easy enough but I also need to find the most recent week of data and have it pull the weeks for the year up to the newest week for LY and TY.

So this is what I thought would work but apparently something about aggregate and non aggregate functions not working.

if left(STR([Week]),4) = "2012" AND right(STR([Week]),2) <= MAX([Week]) THEN

[Sales]

End

So basically LY is 2012 so I am pulling that and it works.  However, I can't compare the week with the last week of data in 2013.  The last week of data is 201307.  So if I put in "07" instead of MAX([Week]) it works great.  But what happens when I update the data next Monday with 201308 data in it?

If parameters were dynamic I could use that in a heartbeat but apparently even in 8.0 that isn't the case.

Any ideas?  Thank you in advance!

• 1. Re: Calculated field using a dynamic value
          Jim Wahl

Hi Tom,

There are probably multiple ways to solve your problem, but I think the below--based on table calculations--should work well in different views.

1. Make sure the raw date [Date] "201101" is in the dimension category.

Generally, dates should be dimensions, but this is also necessary to specify [Date] as a partition for the WINDOW function below to find max week.

2. Create [Date Year] and [Date Week] fields and put in hierarchy.

I left them as strings and used Tableau's string functions RIGHT, LEFT, .. This step may not be strictly necessary, but I think it's useful and may simplify your view creation.

3. Create table calc for [Week Max].

[Week Max] = INT(RIGHT(STR(WINDOW_MAX(MAX([Date]))), 2))