4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2013 2:20 PM by Andrea McLain

Is there a way to count a value throughout multiple columns?

Andrea McLain

Hi, I am a beginner in Tableau and working on my first project.  In my data set, I have 7 columns for referral reasons, since each record could contain up to 7.  Is there a way to get a count throughout all 7 columns for each individual referral reason in a Tableau visual?  I do not want to join the 7 columns into 1 in the custom SQL query because I cannot have any duplicate records as this would majorly throw off the counts in all other fields.

• 1. Re: Is there a way to count a value throughout multiple columns?
          Joshua Milligan

Andrea,

It's a little hard to know if this is a correct answer without seeing the data, but my guess is that you will want to create a calculated field (right click in the data window under Dimensions or Measures and select "Create Calculated Field").  Give it a name like "Referral Count" and the code will look something like:

Referral_Col_1 +  Referral_Col_2 + Referral_Col_3 + Referral_Col_4 + Referral_Col_5 +Referral_Col_6 + Referral_Col_7

If that doesn't seem to work, please post a packaged workbook or sample data (with dummy values if sensitivity is an issue) and I'll be happy to take a look.

Regards,

Josua

• 2. Re: Is there a way to count a value throughout multiple columns?
            Andrea McLain

Joshua,