8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2015 10:39 PM by Alex Katona

Best Practices for Data Usage (published data sources, etc)?

Kyle B

I have been using Tableau for several years now, but sometimes I get the feeling I'm doing something "wrong."

I'm interested if there are any defined best practices, or workflows you guys have come up with in regards to Tableau and Tableau Server Data Sources. Let me describe a scenario to better illustrate my question.

My typical workflow:

I create a workbook

I connect to a data source

I set up an extract

I create the views

I publish the workbook

At some point I get a request to change some minor thing, or I want to exclude a couple of outliers that are skewing the view (for everyone, not just myself). I open the workbook back up on my desktop, but the data is from when I last published it. So I refresh the extracts (could take some time, depending on size). I then re-publish, overwriting the previous workbook.

Do most people operate the same way? Or once you determine you are going to publish a workbook, do you publish the data source, then connect to the published data source?

• 1. Re: Best Practices for Data Usage (published data sources, etc)?
          Kyle B

Wow, really? No one has ANY input?

• 2. Re: Best Practices for Data Usage (published data sources, etc)?
            Allan Walker

Hi Kyle:

So here's my tuppence worth:

1.  Elicit the user requirements: scope, UI/UX (tables, charts, hybrid, dashboard)

2.  Derive the system requirements: color, look for best practise (usually Tufte), refine

3.  Build up a list of workbooks per scope.  Attempt to bring all of these into one looking for a common set of parameters

4.  Build up the most efficient custom query, usually custom SQL connection, looking for a common unit of analysis (for joining etc)

5.  Connect and begin to design.  I work off the live connection, leaving pulling the extract until last.

6.  Work out parameters, filters, CF's etc