2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2013 8:06 AM by Toby Erkson

Best setup for data connection / import

Devin Brown

I'm new to Tableau, and I'm hoping to use it to more efficiently access and analyze data from an MS Access database I have been using to store large amounts of transaction data. Because of the amount and size of the data, I've thus far been keeping the data split into separate quarterly files (roughly 2million rows each), with another database file that simply connects to each of these to work from using joins.

I'm now trying to determine the best way to access this data in Tableau, and I'm having a hard time finding relevant suggestions/instruction. I tried importing one database file and then "extract -> add data from file" to add data from the other files to it, which seemed to work fine, but I will always have one Access file that is being updated each week, so I imagine a linked file would be best for at least that one file. Before I put too much time into this I want to be sure I'm taking the best approach from the beginning. Any suggestions or direction would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Best setup for data connection / import
          Devin Brown

To add a bit more information to this, here is what I'm running into and perhaps someone can help me find the best solution. I've tried to live-link to each of the separate databases, but I can't seem to figure out how to join them all together within Tableau for a seamless data set. Just for giggles, unsure how Tableau would handle such a task, I've also tried live-linking to the database that simply contains the connections to each separate database and consolidates them in a single join query, but it appears Tableau can't live-link to multiple tables in a single Access database that exceed Access' 2gb file limit (even though they are simply links).