9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2013 1:21 PM by Jonathan Drummey

filtering

damian thomas

Hi, I'm a newbie. My problem is filtering on date or percent.

If records fall into specific date range show or percent greater the 50 show. Any examples or help would be great. Thanks

• 1. Re: filtering
          Shawn Wallwork

Damian, welcome to the forums! See attached for an example of how you can do this.

--Shawn

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: filtering
            damian thomas

Shawn, this is great. However, my results need to be limited by percent and date.

• 3. Re: filtering
              Shawn Wallwork

Just change from OR to AND

And.png

--Shawn

• 4. Re: filtering
                damian thomas

Shawn the formula works great. Tableau does not allow me to add it to a filter. I would use your example as:

(SUM([Profit])/SUM([Sales]))>.07 OR (ATTR([Order Date])>[Start Date] AND ATTR([Order Date])<[End Date])

My next step is to add it as a filter. This does not work. 

I need limit my result set based on the formula above.

• 5. Re: filtering
                  Jonathan Drummey

Hi Damian,

Just saying "This does not work." is not particularly helpful, please give us more information next time about exactly what you're doing and where you are seeing the failure. Based on your description, I *think* what's going on is that you created a calculated field with this formula:

(SUM([Profit])/SUM([Sales]))>.07 OR (ATTR([Order Date])>[Start Date] AND ATTR([Order Date])<[End Date])

And then tried to drag that onto the Filters Shelf, and Tableau didn't let you do that. Is that correct?