4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2013 10:44 AM by adam.medcalf

Running Sum based on full extract

Michel Caissie

Hi,

I am relatively new to Tableau and i have a question regarding Table Calculations.

My question is , is it possible to make some calculations based on all the data in the extracts, independently

of the rows filtered?

My goal is to display the running sum of measures and i want the calculation to start from the first row  in the extract and

not the first row in the Window.

Attached is an example using the SuperStore sample. On sheet1 i display the number of orders for the complete time range

with the Cumulative values starting in 2009.

On sheet2 i display  the number of orders for 2012 only  but i would like the Cumulative Number of Orders to be the same as on sheet1.

In my real world i have to produce a daily report displaying  daily stats with some cumulative values.

In mySql , i have to do a subquery to count the cumulative values

select

e.time as 'Time filter in Tableau'

e.value1,

(select count(event.value1)

from event

where event.time <= e.time

) as 'cumulative value1'

from

event e

The problem is that if i have a zillion event per day, i have to calculate the same value a zillion time

so i can have it available on every row, and this really kills the query performance.

I guess this should be a common problem ,  i am open to any suggestions to accomplish this whether in Tableau

or MySQL.

thanks.

Michel

• 1. Re: Running Sum based on full extract
          Joshua Milligan

Michel,

The reason the filter in your example doesn't work is that it is applied at the data source level (in this case, the extract -- but it's true for any source).  The table calculation is then applied once the data is returned to Tableau's data engine.  At that point, only data for 2012 is available for the table calc.