3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2013 7:12 PM by Joshua Milligan

How to do time series

SAdra Alavi

Hey

I'm a master student and I'm dealing with Remote sensing data for my master thesis. I'm totally a new user and actually found Tableau while I was searching for Time Series analysis. I spend few hours to understand the software in order to running the time series but its not as easy as it looks in the tutorial!

So in general I have a 10 years of dataset (2002-2012), and for each year I have values for June, July and August, In other words I have 30 columns. However each column might have different records  (For example: June 2004: 500 records, August 2008: 700 records and etc.).

I would like to plot a time series from 2002 till 2012 that with a scatters that shows the fluctuation of my data so later I can check the pattern and the trend during the 10 years.

I have attached part of my data set here as an excel file (test.xls). Any help for yours is appreciated, so I can proceed with my master thesis.

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Kindly regards,

SAdra

• 1. Re: How to do time series
          Joshua Milligan

sAdra,

I think Tableau would be a great tool for your analysis.  I took a look at your data, but I didn't really understand what I was looking at (for example, why are there 4 columns for each date?)

I think you would find Tableau very easy if the data was structured just a little differently.  I re-shaped your data using the Tableau Data Reshaping Tool (you can read about it and download it here: http://kb.tableausoftware.com/articles/knowledgebase/addin-reshaping-data-excel).  And I took some liberties with it to demonstrate an example of what could be done (for example, I just made up some dates since I didn't understand why there were multiple columns per date in your data).