Are you using Server? If so, look for the "Pause Automatic Updates" button. It toggles whether quick filter selections update the dashboard or not. That will allow your users to make changes and then resume when they are ready.
(Please also see this thread: http://community.tableau.com/message/197789#197789)
In Desktop, the same functionality exists. It looks like this:
gosh, I can't believe I didn't see that button. Thanks!