4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2013 9:27 AM by d.bb

Averaging Columns

d.bb

I'm new to Tableau, and have not had any formal training, so much of the lingo may be lost on me...  I'm finding that some of the seemingly simple things I need to do are not overly apparent, and downright maddening.  Several days spent Googling and searching the forums have turned up tons of things that don't apply, or for whatever reason, are not available in my menu options.  Forgive me, but you may see me as a frequent poster here in the near-term as I pull out the rest of my hair... 

I'm using Tableau Desktop 7, and am connecting to an OLAP data source.  My data is sensitive, so I can't really post samples.

I have a worksheet that is simply tabular data, and will stay tabular, most of which is straight from the cube, with no other calculations other than applying various filters.  Measure Values are on the Column "shelf," while Dimensions are on the Rows.  Any calculated measures I've created are also columnar.

I was able to add a Grand Total horizontally across the bottom of the table, but I also need to add a row below that for showing the average calculated from each column above.  Each average value will be used later as a threshold, to highlight data points in it's column (e.g. above average, below average, "around average"). 

Potential forum/web solutions found include using SUM (Tableau gives me "unknown function sum"), or use right-click options to duplicate measures, etc. but these are not available in my menus.

In the simplest terms, I want to be able to do this:

MeasureAMeasureBMeasureC
      Company11143
      Company22812
      Company3319
      Grand Total62324
      Average27.788

Surely this is possible?  Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

-D

• 1. Re: Averaging Columns
          Catherine Rivier

Hi,