5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2012 1:17 AM by kettan

Can I link workbooks in Tableau?

Jeff Cook

I'm relatively new to Tableau, but I've worked in BI for many years.  I want to know if it is possible to nest or link workbooks in Tableau, in a parent-child fashion?  I've done this in the past with llnked universes in Business Objects.  The idea is that you create a workbook for each table then create a master workbook that joins in the child workbooks.  This really helps with development and maintenance of workbooks in a conformed dimension data warehouse environment.  I would like to create one workbook for each dimension table, then create master workbooks for each fact table which join in the related dimension workbooks.  If I have to add a column or a calcuation to a dimension workbook, I can change it once in the dimension workbook and it is automatically propogated or used in the master-fact table workbooks next time they are used.  Does this concept exist in Tableau?  I'm trying to avoid the creation of many workbooks for each star in our data warehouse where I'll have to re-create each dimension table with all of its hierarchies, aliases, calculated columns, etc...  Please let me know if there is anything like this or any other way that I can reduce the development and maintenance of my Tableau workbooks.

Thanks,

Jeff

• 1. Re: Can I link workbooks in Tableau?
          Dimitri.B

As far as I know, there is no such functionality in Tableau.

The closest thing I can think of is to create a workbook that has all the joins and custom calculations that you want and publish its data source to Tableau Server or share it via file system.

The downside there is that performance will most likely suffer as a result, and even if it didn't -- no-one can predict and foresee all possible joins and calculations that might be needed.