7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2013 8:23 AM by Rey Sanchez

Need Help! How do I create a truly Global filter

Anjana Sudhi

Hi,

I have multiple extracts, using which I have created multiple dashboards in the same file.

I want to create a filter in such a way that, for example, I choose "PersonA" on Dashboard1, the same filter is chosen on all the other dashboards(Note that the extracts will be different on the other dashboards)

Is this possible?

Or, as a workaround, can I have all the views in a single dashboard(say I create a scrollbar), and then create an "action". If yes, how do i create a scroll bar?

P.S. I am relatively new to Tableau so please explain in detail

• 1. Re: Need Help! How do I create a truly Global filter
          Shawn Wallwork

Hi Anjana, is sounds like the thing you need to understand about global filters is that they are based on (exclusive to) each of your data connections. So in the case of multiple extracts, setting a filter to global will only effect that single extract, none of the others. There are all kinds of work-arounds you might be able to use to get the result you are looking for, but that's a whole other question.

Hope this helps,

--Shawn

• 2. Re: Need Help! How do I create a truly Global filter
            Andy Cotgreave

A filter is "global" to the connection, not the workbook. The multiple versions of the extracts count as different connections, so one "global" filter does not apply to all connections.

You can workaround this using parameters, but it can get complicated and a maintenance headache.

i'm not sure what you mean by creating a scrollbar?

• 3. Re: Need Help! How do I create a truly Global filter
              Catherine Rivier

Andy is right about parameters being a solution to this issue. It's actually one I prefer if I the situation is right.  They can be complex to build, but the right data these can work really well.  (Added benefit: they're much faster than built-in filters.)