3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2012 8:33 AM by Russell Christopher

Does Tableau have text fields for user interaction

dino.vieira

Hi

I'm a complete newbie to Tableau but love the possibilities of having an interactive dashboard online for calculations I use often.

The calculations in question have a certain number of known data entries (which I can populate a table with) but the rest are unknown variables that are unique each time the calculations are performed. So my questions are as follows:-

1) Is it possible to have 'n' number of text fields in the dashboard that allows the user to enter those unique variables?

2) Is it possible to have a visualisation that yields numeric results? (as opposed to a graph)

If the above is not possible, then a cheat I thought of is to populate a table with thousands of variables (but will need 3 decimal places per variable) and several

list boxes in the dashboard, that filter the calculations based on the selection from the list box. However this really does sound extreme. Hoping option 1 is possible.

The table below is an example of just one row. The number of times this row is repeated is also unique and variable per situation.

Thanks

DescriptionMaterial 1material 2DirectionLengthHeight 1
      Height 2
      AreaCo-efficientL / H1LocationResult 1Result 2
      User interaction but could be a List box with pre-populated optionslist box with 5 optionslist box with 7 optionsany 1 of 8 compass pointsuser entryuser entryuser entryuser entryformula - non interactiveformula - non interactive1 of 6 optionsformula - non interactiveformula - non interactive
        • 1. Re: Does Tableau have text fields for user interaction
          Russell Christopher

Hi Dino -

Welcome!