14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2018 1:16 AM by Simon Runc

Creating a filter based on formula?

Glen Park

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to Tableau and having the toughest time applying a filter on a string column.  Basically I'm looking to filter out any rows from my source where the column contains any one of two substrings.  I drag my column into the filters window then in the "Condition" table I choose "By Formula" and I put the following:

CONTAINS([my_column],"VRI") OR CONTAINS([my_column],"TRAN")

Then I go into the "General" tab and check "Exclude".  But what happens is that my entire chart disappears.  Does anyone know what I'm missing?

Thanks,

Glen

• 1. Re: Creating a filter based on formula?
          Mark Holtz

Hi Glen,

There are plenty of ways to go at this. I must say I'm not very familiar with using the custom aspects of the filters...I'm partial to creating calculated fields to hold formulas rather than inserting them directly into the filter. That way, I can expose the result in the view if I so choose.

You could try something like this:

IF CONTAINS([DimensionField],'VRI') OR CONTAINS([DimensionField],'Tran')
          THEN 'Filter'
          ELSE 'Show'
          END

Then, just drag that new field into the filter shelf and choose to expose 'Show' only.

Good luck!

2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating a filter based on formula?
            Alex Kerin

Mark is right - you could actually use your original formula as a calculated field - it would evaluate as a boolean T/F

• 3. Re: Creating a filter based on formula?
              Glen Park

Yeah this is the way I ultimately went with.  Thanks!

• 4. Re: Creating a filter based on formula?
                Rupali Negi

Hi Mark,