7 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2013 6:18 AM by Jonathan Drummey

How to build this stacked bar chart?

Glen Park

Hello everyone!

I'm very new to Tableau (but not to data warehousing) and just starting to learn this wonderful tool, so please bear with me.  I'm tasked with creating a report with a stacked bar chart which will display aggregated numbers of purchase orders and how many days they were late shipping out.  The data essentially looks something like this:

po_id, po_created_dt, expected_shp_dt, actual_shp_dt

1,'2012-09-29','2012-10-01','2012-10-01'

2,'2012-09-29','2012-10-01','2012-09-30'

3,'2012-09-30','2012-10-02','2012-10-05'

4,'2012-10-01','2012-10-03','2012-10-05'

What my end users are looking for visually is a stacked bar chart that will group these purchase orders by their created dates on the x-axis but they will be color coded into groups vertically (each color representing a "days late" range...i.e. 1 day late, 2 days late, 3 days late, 4+ days late).

On top of that I'd like to label each vertical group as a percentage of the total number of purchase orders that are late, for instance all purchase orders that are 1 day late are 10% of the total number of late purchase orders. 

I've been playing around with this and only have gotten as far as creating a couple of calculated measures that determine the number of days late and what's basically a flag column to list as what vertical group they belong to.  But after that I'm rather lost.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Glen

• 1. Re: How to build this stacked bar chart?
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi Glen,

How about something like the attached?

Jonathan

• 2. Re: How to build this stacked bar chart?
            Glen Park

Yes that's very similar to what I'm looking for.  Thank you!

• 3. Re: How to build this stacked bar chart?
              Jeff Voigt