6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2016 10:22 PM by Dhruv Gupta

Pie chart top 10 and others

Hello,

I'm new in tableau , and i am trying to make an pie chart with top 10 cars and all other cars that are not in top ten to group them in "Others".

I have a dynamic top10 so i can't select them manually , tableau must see who's on top 10 by the points they have in Oracle DB and map them on the pie. Is this possible? If yes , how? ( i tried with some calculation and condition on calculated field but no result)

Best Regards

Vlad T.

• 1. Re: Pie chart top 10 and others
          Alex Kerin

This should be straightforward but isn't - there could easily be an easier method than mine.

First, creating a ranking by a measure is easy - use index() and set the sort order of the table calculation to be explicitly whatever measure you want. This is shown in the second sheet where the field [rank] is set to order by the sum of sales descending (right click [rank] on the shelf, edit table calculation and use the drop down to select advanced to see how this is set.

Creating the 'other' is also easy - just check the rank - see [Top 10 or other] in the third sheet. Because we need the product name to get the rank, it needs to be included on the level of detail.

Unfortunately because the product name is on the level of detail it causes the overlap on the 'others' - basically every remaining product sum of sales is overlapped.

Ideally we would create a window_sum that partitions using [Top 10 or other], but here lies the problem - you can't partition a table calculation by another. Instead we have to recreate the partitioning using another calculation [Sales All]