Changing the user's permissions/license level will not affect the workbook, however, they will still own the workbook if they were the ones who published it. So--if their license level changed back, then they would still have the permissions associated with it.
Hope this helps!
Thanks very much your answer is really helpful! Did not occur to me about the workbook permissions if I were to re-licence them in future.