5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2012 3:00 AM by Jonathan Drummey

How to display number of times a dimension appears?

david.severski

Hello, everyone. I'm a Tableau beginner with hopefully a straightforward question. I have a flat file list of entries and am trying to display the frequency distribution of the entries.

The data looks like:

SalespersonSale Size
      Joe54
      Joe42
      Joe55
      Sally60
      Sally50
      Mark20
      Mark100

The end result will be the following sort of information:

#er of sales
      # of salespersons

How can I do this in Tableau?

• 1. Re: How to display number of times a dimension appears?
          Dimitri.B

Provided you data is not in Excel or Access (both have limitations due to Jet SQL), you can use calculated fields:

COUNT([Salesperson]) //number of sales, assuming each row is one sale

COUNTD([Salesperson]) //number of salespersons, i.e. count each person once (distinct count)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to display number of times a dimension appears?
            david.severski

Thanks, Dimitri. My data is in Excel and CSV files so the countd function isn't available. The online help mentions that using an extracts is supposed to enable this functionality, but extracting the data and verifying that the extract is being used doesn't seem to turn that function on. Is there way to get countd to work in this scenario?

• 3. Re: How to display number of times a dimension appears?
              Dimitri.B

Try saving, closing and re-opening the workbook. COUNTD() should work with extracts, if it doesn't for you - can you attach a sample workbook?

• 4. Re: How to display number of times a dimension appears?
                david.severski