6 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2012 11:50 AM by . Tableautester

geocoding using different table

Hi,

I'm new to mapping using tableau, but have some experience in mapping and geocoding (MapInfo).

here is my problem: I have a list of name that have various geographical reference. This could be postal/Zip code or in the absence of such a field, a city/state country name. Of course, the postal code vary by country Canada has a form A9A 9A9 while the us ha a zip code in the form 99999.

My question is: is it possible to geocode in "stages", ie first Canadian postal code, then zip code then city of the world, etc...

Is there any way to do something similar in Tableau (7 BTW)?

Gérard Garreau

Concordia University

• 1. Re: geocoding using different table
          Richard Leeke

If I understand you correctly there are really two questions in here:

1) Can Tableau cope with different forms of postcode/zipcode?

2) Can Tableau fall back to less and less precise geocoding, based on different geocoded fields, until it finds a match.

The answer to 1) is yes and I'm fairly sure the answer to 2) is no (or at least I can't think how to achieve that).

For the first case, all you need to do is have country and postcode fields in your data (with their geographic roles set appropriately) and place both on the view. The postcode field just needs to be a text field with the relevant format for each country. Tableau sorts out making the right association based on the Country.

• 2. Re: geocoding using different table

Richard,

Thanks for the answer, Do I understand correctly your suggestion that canadian postal code and US zip code could/should be in 2 different fields. If so can I have multiple fields that are refered as "postal code"?