6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 4:44 PM by Tracy Rodgers

Sharing Dashboards from a Cube

Nicholas Hermez

Hello,

I'm extremely new to cubes but I needed to connect with MS Analysis Services for a project.  Is it possible to share this dashboard with others without exporting to pdf?

Thanks,

Nick

• 1. Re: Sharing Dashboards from a Cube
          Tracy Rodgers

Hi Nicholas,

If your users have access to the cube, you can share the dashboard using Tableau Reader, or if you have Tableau Server, you can also share it that way.

-Tracy

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Sharing Dashboards from a Cube
            Nicholas Hermez

Thanks for the response!  I just want to make sure I understand correctly:

Are you saying that if my users do not have access to the cube, then I can allow them to view the dashboard using Tableau Server?

Or are you simply saying that Tableau Server is another way to distribute the dashboard to users, assuming the have Tableau Server?

Thanks,

Nick

• 3. Re: Sharing Dashboards from a Cube
              Tracy Rodgers

Hi Nick,

The latter. Tableau Server is another way to distribute the dashboard, so long as they have permissions to Tableau Server.

-Tracy

• 4. Re: Sharing Dashboards from a Cube
                davidclaen

Hi Nick,

just to make this clear.

Connection to SSAS with Tableau Desktop differs from connection SSAS with Tableau Server.

If you want to create Views and Dashboards with Tableau Desktop you must have access to the Cube. Tableau Desktop is using your personal (AD) Credentials (Windows Authentication) for the connection.

Tableau Server is running under a technical User. This user is connecting to SSAS and executes all the queries.

You can publish your developed Views and Dashboards to Tableau Server. You are also allowed to give your users different kinds of access to the dashboards. But the user credentials aren't used for the SSAS connection.