11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2015 9:42 AM by Connor Martin

Merging custom zip code boundaries into a single shape for analysis

malena.rubino

Hi there,

I'm new to Tableau and a novice GIS user. I'm trying to find a solution to my mapping problem and there seems to be many resources available on these forums, but I am not sure which one is best for me to attempt. I'm looking for someone to point me to the right direction or help me out.

Basically, I want to create my own custom map boundaries. At this point I have zip code data and can set the boundaries I need using these data, but I want to group certain zip codes into a single shape to view results at an aggregated level instead of by an individual zip code level.  Ideally I wish I could merge zip code boundaries and assign club names to them.

Attached is a workbook including unique sales areas defined at the zip code level. These sales areas are considered clubs and are often made up of random areas across different states. For example if you filter on the Allied club, only the orange area appears as a group made up of Kansas, West Virginia, Kentucky, Connecticut. What's missing: I want users to see Allied results by clicking on the map, so if they click any area that makes up Allied, I want the aggregate results to show of all those zip codes  and I want the entire club to highlight on the map.  Currently, when users click on the map they get zip code level data instead of club level data.  I don't want users to view results at the zip code level but only at the designated club level.

I think I need to use custom geocoding and or create my own poligons. I'm just not sure what solution I should use to achieve this. Please let me know if you need any more clarification, this is all new to me.

I have access to Quantum GIS.

• 1. Re: Merging custom zip code boundaries into a single shape for analysis
          Richard Leeke