10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2015 11:25 PM by Junjappa M

Cash flow simulation on Tableau

Fabio Annovazzi

Hi,

I am new to tableau.

I am trying to understand if it is possible/makes sense to use Tableau for financial/cash flow modeling. I have profit and loss data for the past 5 years and forecast for the next two. I have the balance sheet and cash flow data for the past. I need to build the balance sheet simulation for the next two years. Do I need to do it in Excel or is there a way to do it in Tableau. I thought about using some calculation that says, for instance, that future accounts receivable must be certain % of future sales. But then this will be a different data element vs the "account receivable' data element while in excel the would be just the "following cell" of a spreadsheet.

thanks

fabio

• 1. Re: Cash flow simulation on Tableau

Fabio,

This is an awesome question and I think that this would be a really useful analysis.  Would you mind posting the data you have (or at least a sample) so we can understand the current structure of the data?

Thanks,

Brandon

• 2. Re: Cash flow simulation on Tableau
            Ben Jones

Hi Fabio - in your Accounts Receivable example, you could create a calculated field that merges historical (actual) AR figures with future (projected) AR based on an existing "Future Sales" forecast like this:

IF ISNULL(Accounts Receivable) THEN (Future Sales)*(Pct Multiplier for AR) ELSE (Accounts Receivable) END

This calculated field (call it "AR_display" or something) could be included in the table and would show both numbers in the same row of the balance sheet.

You could also create another calcualted field called "Type" that indicates whether the figure is actual or forecasted as follows:

IF ISNULL(Accounts Receivable) THEN "Forecast" ELSE "Actual" END

You could use this field to change the color of the table to make it easy to spot what type of figure it is.