5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2012 9:00 AM by Ken Zheng

How to use multiple fact tables with different data granularities and multiple common dimension tables to build a report in Tabl

Hi, I am new to Tableau, and I am using Tableau Desktop version 6.1

Is it possible to use multiple fact tables with different data granularities and multiple common dimension tables to build a report in Tableau?

For example:

- I have one fact table F_Sub_Solution_Data that joins to D_Geo_Theater ,D_Geo_Region,D_Country,D_Partner,D_Solution,D_Sub_Solution and D_MQHY dimension tables with Metric_value metric

And I have onather fact table F_Theater_Data that joins to D_Geo_Theater ,D_Geo_Region,D_Country,D_Partner,D_Solution,D_Sub_Solution and D_MQHY Ddimension tables with Agg_Metric_Value metric

This is the dimension hierarchy :

D_Geo_Theater ----> D_Geo_Region -----> D_Country -----> D_Partner ------> D_Solution ------> D_Sub_Solution

F_Sub_Solution_Data Conatins data like :

Partner_Id Year_Id Month_Id Solution_Id Sub_Solution_Id Metric_Name Metric_Value

1 1 10 1 1 Qualified 1

1 1 10 1 1 Committed 0

1 1 10 1 1 Demo Ability 1

And

F_Theater_Data contains:

Theater_Id Solution_Id Year_Id Month_Id Metric_Name Agg_Metric_Value

1 1 1 10 Committed Solution Partners 100%

1 1 1 10 Demo Ability 48%

1 1 1 10 POC Ability 0%

1 1 1 10 Technical Training 25%

For the moment I did not figure out how to describe such database design in Tableau and I think this is

Please can anybody help me out?

Thanks.

Param

• 1. Re: How to use multiple fact tables with different data granularities and multiple common dimension tables to build a report in Tabl
          Peter Hopwood

Hi Parmeshvarkharat