1 2 3 Previous Next 32 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2017 11:07 AM by Rondeau Mathieu

SAS ODBC Driver

I have installed Tableau 7.0 on my computer. I want to connect to a SAS Database but I am not finding any ODBC driver for SAS from the list. Please let me know if I am missing any Steps. Attached is the Screen Shot of the list of ODBC drivers I am able to see. Please let me know which driver should I use to connect to a SAS Database.

• 1. Re: SAS ODBC Driver
          Dimitri.B

I am not a SAS expert, but, generally speaking, ODBC is a generic connection, i.e. databases have to add their drivers to the list of available drivers/connections so that third party software (e.g. Tableau) can use those drivers/connections to connect. This usually happens when database or its client are installed on the computer, otherwise, an ODBC driver must be procured, ether from database vendor or from somewhere else (e.g. http://www.datadirect.com/products/odbc/), and installed. This may not be at all possible with some data sources, or may cost money. Looks like there is either no SAS ODBC driver on your computer, or it is hidden. Your best bet is to check this with SAS.

• 2. Re: SAS ODBC Driver
            Russell Christopher

Ameet, Dimitri is spot on - Tableau doesn't provide you with an SAS ODBC driver, you need to get it from SAS.

• 3. Re: SAS ODBC Driver
              Tim Latendress

The SAS ODBC drivers should be part of the standard desktop install. If you are running an x64 machine, you might not see them because you are not using the proper admin tool. You must use the ODBC Administrator tool in %windir%\SysWOW64\odbcad32.exe. I went ahead and made a new shortcut in my Control Panel labeling it "ODBC Administrator (x64)". If after you open this administration tool you still don't see the SAS drivers you will need to download and install them from the SAS Customer Support site.