5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 11:26 AM by harshal tannu

Predictive Analytical Modelling

harshal tannu

I am new to Tableau and am trying to build a predictive analytical dashboard for effective Resource Allocation. I went through various forums posted on Tableau support, but was not able to find a fix solution for my dashboard requirement. Here is brief description about the requirements and target audience.

Requirements –

Officers / departments work on individual tasks represented by a Document Number. In a year, officer would have worked on ‘x’ number of documents for ‘y’ number of hours. This can help us compute average ‘hours / documents’ required for a officer to complete a task. Since a officer is assigned to a ‘Officer Class’, ‘Category’, ‘Service Center’ etc, aggregating the hours at these individual levels would represent amount of work load at different levels. Which can be used to calculate the ‘FTE’ requirement for that level. Dashboard I am building will look at this historical data, present in organization database, and will predict the workload and FTE requirement at levels mentioned above (Service Center, etc).

Audience –

This dashboard will be used at all the levels, Directors / Managers / Officers, to have a look at historical workload data. As described above, this dashboard will also provide a forecast of workload and help individual to manage resources efficiently within various departments.

Design –

Dashboard should first display the historical data in tabular form. Rows will have different departments and columns will show ‘Document Count’, ‘Hours per Document’, ‘Total Hours’, ‘FTE’ spread across past years. Last column can show forecasted values for forthcoming year. I am thinking of having this forecasted value to be an editable field, so that manager can change the ‘Document Count’ (estimated workload) and see what will be the ‘FTE’ requirement for his department. Something like scenario analysis.