6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2011 10:27 AM by Joshua Kitz

Basic join question- "Cannot blend aggregated data"

Catherine Peloquin

Hello,

I hope this is the correct forum. I am new to Tableau (using v6) trying to do a very basic join. I have two data tables of the following form:

Employee_Data (primary data source):

TrackingID

... other data

Computer_Data (secondary data source):

TrackingID

ComputerType

...other data

I connected to the two data sources easily and can see them in the Data Window.

I would like to join the two tables so I can make a visualization of Location vs. ComputerType. I attempted to do this with the following steps:

1. Data->Relationships

2. Select Computer_Data->Custom->Add

3. Highlight TrackingID in Computer_Data and Employee_Data, then click OK twice

This seems straightforward, but when I try to create the visualization, I get the following error message:

"Cannot blend aggregated data from the secondary data source with the data on this sheet because there are no linking fields used in this view."

TrackingID is of the same data type in both data sources.

Unfortunately, I am not able to attach my data file to this question because it contains sensitive information.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I am doing wrong?

Thank you,

Catherine P.

• 1. Re: Basic join question- "Cannot blend aggregated data"
          Joe Mako

If both tables are in the same data source, you may want to consider the Multiple Tables option when connecting to your data source.

Generally, when using a data blend, the field you are joining on is the level of detail you what to display, but with custom table calculations, you can perform the data blend at one level, and aggregate at another.

Here is a KB article with some details on the differences between a Join and a Data Blend in Tableau:

http://www.tableausoftware.com/support/knowledge-base/join-vs-relationship-60

For performing a join between tables in the same data source see: