8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2014 12:01 PM by . Tableautester

Forecasting - how to?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Tableau and I really love it - I am querying my dummy DB (sales data) with it and it is great so far.

However, there is one point which I cannot really understand as of yet: how do you forecast using Tableau?

So for example I have a data sets which corresponds of all days in May with number of items sold in May.

Now I apply a trendline and can visually see: sales are increasing, yes! Of course, thats beautiful, but for example to order more stuff from my supplier, I would like to know how much more I will sell in the next x days.

Or the other way around: I have 1000 units on stock. And based on the sales so far + the trend, how many days of stock do I have left.

Is it possible to answer these questions with Tableau?

Thanks,

Peter

• 1. Re: Forecasting - how to?
          Richard Leeke

Good question!

The short answer is that there's no easy, out-of-the-box, point-and-click answer for you - but with a bit of effort there are things that you can do.  Actually probably quite a lot of effort.  ;-)

Your question hints at two classes of requirements, one of which is a lot easier than the other.

1) "Based on historical data, when will I run out" or "Based on historical data, how much will I sell in the next N days" type questions need some sort of trend model, from which you want to calculate a single number.

You can't get at the results of Tableau's trend models to do further calculations, but as long as you know the maths for the trend model you want to use, that should be possible using table calculations.  There is an active thread on this topic here.

2) I don't think this is specifically what you were asking, but sometimes you may want to project results into the future and display the next N periods (say) visually.

That would require injecting additional rows into your data set, and arranging for those rows to contain the projected values.