9 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2016 9:42 AM by Mohit Sharma

Mixing aggregate and non-aggregate measures in CASE statement - Help

Hi,

I’m new to Tableau and am slowly getting to grips with it.

My current problem is that I have several measures in my workbook including Health Expenditure and Population and used these to create calculated measures such as Health Expenditure per capita.

I wish to create a chart with Population on the X-axis and allow the user to select  another measure on the Y-axis.

I am successfully able to create a parameter to dynamically change the Y-axis on a chart using the main measure (Health Expenditure), however, I would like to include the calculated measures in the parameter.

When I try this, it does of course return the “cannot mix aggregate and non-aggregate comparisons or results  in ‘CASE’ expressions” error”

Is there any way this can be done or should I be looking at doing the calculation in my original data source?

Thanks

J

• 1. Re: Mixing aggregate and non-aggregate measures in CASE statement - Help
          Richard Leeke

Post a sample workbook (using mocked-up data) showing the exact form of your calculation and someone will probably be able to help you get it going.  You often find that the ATTR() function can be helpful in these cases - but it's hard to know without seeing the exact scenario.

• 2. Re: Mixing aggregate and non-aggregate measures in CASE statement - Help

Hi

Sample workbook attached .....as you will see creating a basic chart is fine, but using the aggregate (Health Expenditure per capita) in the CASE statement for a custom y-axis causes issues.

Just wondering which is the best way to go about it :-)

Thanks

• 3. Re: Mixing aggregate and non-aggregate measures in CASE statement - Help
              Richard Leeke

I just had a very quick look and made a couple of changes that stopped you getting any errors.  I haven't looked to see if it's giving the answer you want though.