7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 30, 2010 2:08 PM by James Baker

Packaged Workbook and SQL Server data source

. paulkem

I am new to Tableau so please bear with me.  Is it possible to create a packaged workbook that connects to a SQL Server data source?  When I try, I get an error message that says “This workbook connects to remote data sources that Tableau Reader cannot open.”  But I do not know if Tableau Reader cannot connect to a SQL Server EVER or if there is something that needs to be done to allow access.

Can anyone help a noob?

Thanks,

PK

• 1. Re: Packaged Workbook and SQL Server data source
          Vanya Tucherov

Hi, Paul,

If the Tableau Packaged Workbooks (.twbx files) that you're opening contain data extracts from SQL Server, Tableau Reader should open them without hesitation. The Reader itself, though, isn't designed to connect to external data sources.

When authoring a view from Tableau's desktop products, a user gets asked if s/he wants to create an extract at the point of connection or can do so at any point under the Data menu for supported datasets (basically, anything to which it can connect which isn't a data cube). That extract is what Reader would open, as well as providing quick and ready access to one's data without requiring a direct connection to the database which houses it.

Hope this helps answer your question.

Regards,

Vanya

• 2. Re: Packaged Workbook and SQL Server data source
            Joe Mako