Skip navigation

Making Tableau Translation Friendly

score 6
You have not voted. Active

Greetings!

This comes as a request from case #02449188.

I am a Technical Program Manager working for a major translation company.  I was just given the task to translate a 100 worksheet Tableau Workbook, and it has been one of the hardest technical project I have ever managed.  I am an expert on XML, and also a seasoned programmer in many programming languages, and it has been really difficult to translate the Workbook.  I did it, but it was with many hours of learning, trial and errors, redifining the translation tool DTD, etc.  With most companies thinking globally, this is a must for all software to be able to be easy localized, or its content translated, so an effort is needed to be able to help the customer translate their Tableau workbooks. 

A little history...

In at the end of October 2016, I received the Tableau workbook that came with some Excels workbooks which had the data that would end up being the report.  We tried translating the Excels, and after translation point the Tableau workbook to the Excels, and get the Workbook to display the translation.  This worked somewhat, but all the colors and formatting previously set to the English source, would be gone, and a totally different schema would be display.  This option would inherit a lot of formatting work to get it looking like the original English source, so, this option did not work.