TCC14 Interactive Schedule Builder - *Final Update

Version 15

Description: I started this workbook when a colleague and I were trying to coordinate where we were going to go at TCC14.  This is my first time going and I have lots of questions, so we wanted to get in as much as we can.  I was disappointed that there were not a lot of options to search/sort in the online schedule from Tableau Schedule | Tableau Conference 2014

So I sent a quick chat to tableau support asking for the data so that we might plot it out ourselves.  The response was that they did not have the data available.  I thought "How is that possible?  They built the website!"  and then I remembered a blog post from Jewel Loree about import.io  so I downloaded it and started scraping.  That task was surprisingly easy and I would encourage anyone to try it as I will definitely be using it in the future. After that I was on my way.

As I completed this book last night I noticed that they added a filter tab which does make searching a lot easier.  I however still wanted to be able to build a schedule and view all days in the same view as well as see if certain seminars had other other times available.  I also wanted to know how far apart each seminar was to see if maybe I could catch half of a couple.  Anyway, here is my stab at making this whole schedule in tableau.  Don't blame me if you don't like the colors I was trying to pay homage to the original version from tableau.

For those of you who have not upgraded yet you can view this on tableau public here.

Workbook: TCC14 Interactive Schedule

Thanks to all who support this community.  I have been following along for a long time but have not had a chance to publish anything as all of the work that I am proud of is confidential.  Hopefully some will find this useful. 

Special thanks to Joe Mako. AlansmitheeRichard Leeke Robert Mundigl Shawn Wallwork Allan Walker Jewel Loree Joshua Milligan Jonathan Drummey Andy Cotgreave