Tableau Ambassador Spotlight - Yuri Fal

Version 4

Last week, I had the opportunity to jump on a call with Tableau Ambassador, Yuriy Fal, all the way from Moscow! It was an absolute pleasure chatting with him, and I learned so much about him! For starters, he's been using Tableau longer than any customer I know about, he's helped tons of people, and he's got a thing for jazz.

yurifal.pngTracy: How long have you been using Tableau and when did you get started?

Yuri: I think it’s been about 8 years now. As I remember, I started using it in 2008. I worked in a distribution company that sold computer accessories and printer supplies. It’s a high volume business. My friend and former colleague, started this company some years ago, and he invited me to join. So I worked for them for 4 years. I was a product manager, doing business buying stuff from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Europe. I had enough spare time to do things other than buy containers of DVD-Rs and trucks of supplies. That’s why my boss told me to pay attention to support my colleagues in buying and selling decisions by creating some analytics for them. And that is how I started working in an analytics role.

When Tableau 10 was released, there was a question in the community (yours actually ) about our Tableau stories. I recall my answer:  I was asked by my boss to calculate a cash conversion cycle (CCC). Cash is very important in the distribution industry. Being short of cash on a high turnover means literally blowing up a business in just a moment.  Every day we should see the whole picture and understand how we are doing.  Are we moving quickly enough (and hopefully in the right direction)? Or are we doing something that increases the risk of cash shortage – up to the point that is out of our control?