7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2019 9:09 AM by Matt Coles

VizAlerts Installation

Nilakshan Ganeshalingam

hey team,

I am trying to install VizAlerts and when I right click and hit run as admin, the CMD opens up and runs a few things quickly and turns off. Then nothing happens. I am assuming I am installing it incorrectly, how should I be installing it?

I used this link here to download: Releases · tableau/VizAlerts · GitHub

Installing v2.1.1 since we are running Tableau 2019.1.3

Thank you

• 1. Re: VizAlerts Installation
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi,

VizAlerts requires a certain amount of configuration, so to help you we need to know what step are you at in the installation guide? install_guide.md <https://github.com/tableau/VizAlerts/blob/master/docs/install_guide.md>

Jonathan

• 2. Re: VizAlerts Installation
            Nilakshan Ganeshalingam

Thank you Jonathan for replying....disclosure to everyone here, I am new to tableau admin world and I am more of a visional learner. That being said, I have a few questions below:

1) Where in the document (VizAlerts/install_guide.md at master · tableau/VizAlerts · GitHub) should I start to follow for a fresh install of Vizalerts? My goal with Vizalerts is to set up alerts to get excel (.csv) files attached to the user's email when users subscribe to any dash.

2) In this document here (Releases · tableau/VizAlerts · GitHub) I downloaded the blue link that reads vizalerts.zip file then I right clicked and extracted the files. Then clicked into the folder and found the .exe file and hit run as admin. After this point, nothing happens. Am I going about this the wrong way?

3) Are there any videos of the installation and the configuration of Vizalerts?

4) Would anyone like to connect via video chat on this? Just to chat regarding best practices and the correct way to go about it.

Thank you

• 3. Re: VizAlerts Installation
              Matt Coles

Hi Nilakshan!