5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2019 6:42 AM by joe.semos

What is your best advice?

Uma Gupta

Dear Tableau Experts,

My name is Uma Gupta and I am a Professor of Business at the State University of New York at Buffalo State scheduled to teach a graduate course in data visualization. I am awaiting approval to join the Tableau for Teaching Group.

This is my first time teaching this course. I would love some advice on do's and don't's. The course has a capstone project. Our goal is to prepare our students for the real world! Thanks so much! Uma

• 1. Re: What is your best advice?
          Sarah Delaney

I actually took a class like this way back on Tableau 8.1 thru British Columbia Institute of Columbia (BCIT) with Donabel Santos. It was a 14 week course. It was a fantastic way to learn the tool and data visualization in general.

The BCIT course was a for credit, academic class with 3 individual dashboard projects, a midterm, forum discussions and a final dashboard project with another person. We each had to present our dashboards to the entire class, which does take up a lot of class time, but is well worth it.

The dashboards were due every couple of weeks or so. We had a choice of data sets for the first 2 dashboards. We all used the same restaurant data set for the 3rd assignment. The final project was what ever we wanted and hopefully used data from our jobs.

It was fascinating to see the color and style sense of my classmates. Some dashboards looked great, but didn't showcase the issue. Some showcased the issue, but didn't look appealing. It was fascinating.  I can't stress enough how valuable it was to see how people worked with the same data set and found completely different things to highlight. (You can kind of get the same experience watching the weekly Makeover Monday critiques.)