4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2019 1:40 PM by Yoni Kaszynski

Tooltips in pie chart as a percentage [Tableau 2019.1]

Yoni Kaszynski

Hello,

Thank you in advance for helping me out. This is my first "real" project for Tableau, so I am kinda learning by trial and error. I am a student. Anyways, my dataset is from the Department of Transportation Form 42 which in this case is the income statement for all airlines in the United States. I am creating a pie chart to show the expenses each airline and the magnitude of each. I have the different airlines as filters, so I think I am doing that right. Anyway, I think I am kind of using a hack for the measure values, by putting all the expense accounts in there, because I will need to make a new measure values for the revenue accounts later. Am I using measure values correctly? Also, I would like to show with the tooltip the percentage each expense is relative to the whole pie, how do I do that? I found answers online, but none that had used measure values in the same way I did. I would like to make multiple measure values, is that possible? Also, I would also like to change the colors on the pie so they are completely separate from each other instead of just different shades of blue. How would I go about doing that?

Thanks again

Yoni

• 1. Re: Tooltips in pie chart as a percentage [Tableau 2019.1]
          Peter Fakan

Hi Yoni,

The short answer is no. Each Pie element is equally proportioned as 1/9 scale, not the percentage of the whole. You can see this when you hover over Deprec Amort (2.7m) whose Pie slice is exactly the same size as Flying Ops (15.8m).

I've mocked up an alternative for you to take a look at - in this version I have removed the operating expenses you had indicated and have replaced it inside the pie as a single measure, which is then divided up by unique carrier which I just randomly picked out of the dimensions (most probably because it was first).

HTH 10.5 attached

Peter