1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2019 10:04 AM by Jim Dehner

"cannot mix aggregate and non-aggregate" error.

Jenifer Lee

Hello!

I am very new to Tableau and I really want to understand more about aggregate and non-aggregate arguments.

I am currently converting a multi - step, multi-sheet excel file into tableau and everything has been going great except for this last step.

1 I have created a new calculation (METRIC under Measures) to calculate the safety metric our company has come up with by adding the column commercial weight if they are at a certain location/facility.

SUM( [Commercial Wt])

2 I have created another calculation (Operations under measures) to calculate the total number of operations by adding two other columns together.

[Air Carrier]+[Air Taxi]

These two calculations have other dependencies (which I don't think matters much).

I would like to find the normalized safety metric by:

using the first calculation and multiplying it by 1000000 and dividing it by the total number of operations (calc 2)

when I try to create a new calculation and type in the formula:

[METRIC]*1000000/[Operations]

the error : "cannot mix aggregate and non-aggregate arguments" pop up.

Is there a easy fix to this step? I'm sure its super simple and I am misunderstanding the arguments. Please help, I've been stuck for two days.

I hope this made sense.

• 1. Re: "cannot mix aggregate and non-aggregate" error.
          Robert Breen

Hello Jenifer,

Since you have an aggregation (SUM) in the metric calculation, you will also need to aggregate the operations calculation to be able to use them in the same calculated field.

solution 1:

update operations to be:   sum([Air Carrier]+[Air Taxi])

solution 2:

update your final calculation to be: [METRIC]*1000000/sum([Operations])

Hope this helps!

Robert

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: "cannot mix aggregate and non-aggregate" error.
            Ewald Hofman