4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2019 7:57 PM by anoosha shetty

Last month and current month calculation at month level

anoosha shetty

Hi Experts ,

I am very new to tableau and any idea is really appreciated

My use case :

user wants to have ability to select if he wants to see last year , current year values , YOY % along  the date granularity (daily, weekly/monthly/yearly)  and last week and current week  with WOW %  along date granularity (daily, weekly) and last month , current month , MOM% metrics along only monthly granularities

While having date slider to choose any date range they want to see all this metrics on

Something like this below :-

Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 10.53.20 PM.png

So in the above screenshot , the chart should dynamically change when user select YOY across different date granularity (daily, weekly/monthly/yearly)

And also same chart should show values for last month instead last year  at month level and WOW (along with last week and current week )at daily and weekly level

So far I have got the YOY metrics across daily/weekly/monthly /yearly granularities

1. created a parameter called(date granularity)
      2. Based on above parameter created a calculated field as “date type selected”
      3. I have create  one more date called "adj date" which will be used as slider , and it will have corresponding local dates (both previous and current values for a given adj dates)
      4. Have got another calculated field called “period” to identify that the selected date belong to current year or last year
      5. By Moving 'date type selected' field in to x axis , adj date in to filter , and my visit metrics in the  Y axis , and pulling the period into colour.

Attached is the Workbook has  the graph which user similarly wants for the MOM , WOW metrics in the single dashboard   ,

I am facing issues while implementing the same to get  MOM % by last month and current month values ! Can someone take look at this workbook and help me out