6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2019 11:11 AM by Nandhini Gopalan

Newbie, having difficulty with COUNTD.

Nandhini Gopalan

Hello everyone,

I am new to Tableau. I am creating a viz of value in column X vs number of rows in column X. There are about 10,000 rows in column X but #number of records shows the total taking all columns into account. I read the forum and used COUNTD[column X] as a created field to calculate the size of column X. This gives me "1" as the answer instead of 10,000. Is this something that can't be done?

The column X has 3 values, YES, NO and NA. I am attaching a screenshot for a better understanding. Kindly help! Thank you!

• 1. Re: Newbie, having difficulty with COUNTD.
          Ankit Bansal

Hi Nandhini,

If you do COUNTD(COLX) , you will get always 1 for each value of COLX. Not sure what you are looking, you can try COUNT(COLX) instead of COUNTD.

Thanks,

AB

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Newbie, having difficulty with COUNTD.
            megha  gawali

Hello Nandhini,

Try this one

{ FIXED [Column name]:SUM([Number of Records])}

• 3. Re: Newbie, having difficulty with COUNTD.
              Jonathan Drummey

Hi,

COUNTD() counts unique values, not records. Here's an overview of the three counting aggregations:

COUNTD(X) counts the distinct (unique) values of X in the current context. With X as a dimension in the view (i.e. the values of X are setting the context for the aggregation) then COUNTD(X) is going to return 1 because there is only one unique value of X (the countd) for each X (dimension).

COUNT(X) counts each non-null value of X once for each record in the current context. Another way of saying this is that it's SUM(IF NOT ISNULL([X]) THEN 1 ELSE 0 END).  With X as a dimension in the view then COUNT(X) will return the number of record for each X and then if X is Null return 0.