9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2019 11:39 AM by Joe Oppelt

Conditional aggregation of a measure

Christoph Klavehn

Dear Community,

Hopefully I am not missing the obvious as I am new to Tableau: I am looking for a way of aggregating a measure based on the category it describes.

My data has the following structure:

The measure is called "value" and is a number on a scale between 1 and 10 points given, for a number of countries and years. Each value of measure is associated with a factor, indicator and dimension (not in the tableau sense of 'dimension'). Between the latter three is a hierarchy of factor < indicator < dimension.

Having the years in columns and the measure in rows I'd like to use filters to switch between various combinations of countries, factors, indicators, and dimensions. This is straightforward if all factors and indicators would follow the same aggregation rule (e.g. average). I am attaching a workbook to illustrate this setup.

However, I would like to adjust the aggregation rule for an indicator's set of factors. For example, in the workbook, "approval" is the simple average of six different factors (correctly shown). By contrast, "funding" is the sum of two its factos (currently shown as their average).

I am wondering whether/how this can be done, i.e. aggregating the value depending on the selection in the filters and a specific aggregation rule for each (in the way in now works for "approval" in the example workbook).

Hope this makes sense - many thanks for any ideas!

I am using Tableau Desktop 2018.3.2.

Chris

• 1. Re: Conditional aggregation of a measure
          Jim Dehner

sorry but not real clear on the goal but it sounds like you want to apply weights to the values by group

you can do that with something like this

then apply the weights to the values

you would adjust the weights and aggregation to meet your needs

Jim