7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2018 10:45 AM by Prashant Kuruamparambatta

LOD with condition

Gowthami Sathiyanathan

Hi Friends

I am new to Tableau. Kindly clarify the below

@

1. Using condition in LOD.

{FIXED [Product Category]="Office Supplies" : sum([Sales])}.

The above logic sums up all the product category  irrespective of the condition mentioned in . Kindly clarify me, is the usage correct

2. AVG function

To find  average sales value for orders which include office supplies.

Added office supplies in filter condition

Approach 1 :{ FIXED : AVG({ FIXED [Order ID] :sum([Sales])})}

Approach 2: { FIXED [Order ID] :sum([Sales])} and do average on the calculated field. By right click and Measure(avg)

Approach 2 produces difference result than approach 1. I am not understanding why its different.

Kindly clarify

Thanks

Gow

• 1. Re: LOD with condition
          Chris McClellan

You probably want to do something like :

{FIXED [Product Category]: sum(if [Product Category]="Office Supplies" then [Sales] end )}

But that will only return the Sum of Sales when you choose the Office Supplies value out of all the Product Category values.  If you chose another Product Category you would get NULL.

Basically, I'm concerned why you want to do something like this - are you working harder or smarter ?

• 2. Re: LOD with condition
            Ganapathy Palanimuthu

Further to Chris's reply, if you want the value to appear against all rows to make a comparison

Calculated field: Furniture_Sales

{SUM(IF [Product Category] = "Furniture"

THEN [Sales]

ELSE 0

END)}

• 3. Re: LOD with condition
              tian.yang.4

hi Gowthami,

try this and datasource is superstore.

{ FIXED [Category]:

SUM(IF [Category]='Office Supplies' then [Sales] END)}

{ FIXED [Order ID]:

AVG(IF [Category]='Office Supplies' then [Sales] END)}

YT

• 4. Re: LOD with condition
                Prashant Kuruamparambatta

Hi Gowthami,