7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2018 8:49 AM by Don Wise

How to get count of a dimension based upon other dimension

Shahroz Ahmed

Hello Guys,

I have got this requirement where I have following data. Basically it's snap shot of data, Data is huge which I also attached for reference

Now Business user expect this following result

If anyone can help me in getting above result, that would be helpful

• 1. Re: How to get count of a dimension based upon other dimension
          Jim Dehner

So what did you try - please attach your twbx workbook with the data to show us how far you got

thanks

Jim

• 2. Re: How to get count of a dimension based upon other dimension
            Shahroz Ahmed

Hi,

I am fairly new in tableau so I couldn't do much. I have merely reached to get distinct count of Disc ID per month.

• 3. Re: How to get count of a dimension based upon other dimension
              Jim Dehner

see the attached

is this what you wanted to see?

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

• 4. Re: How to get count of a dimension based upon other dimension
                Shahroz Ahmed

Jim,

It's not correct. I mean it's not what I expect in outcome. In your outcome for January 2014 is 26 which should be 32 which I am counting on basis of distinct DiscID per month. That's how it should be counted for every month from Jan to December. I don't need show all year of data we district for example for just year 2014.

2)The next measure I would like to show in another row is show me count of distinct ID where appr_status is "Returned" but count of appstatus should also be 1 (meaning --- any discid can not have multiple time Returned". If the do then in this case it should be added into disctinct count of DisID.