3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2018 9:23 AM by Carisa Chang

Tableau Server Double Hop issue to Sql Server

Abby Palcer

I am very new to the Tableau Server. As I was setting up the server to access my sql server, I noticed I was loosing my network credential. I am an admin on the Tableau Server and I am an admin on the SQL server. Because of the way my company is building reports, I need the network credential passed through to the database. I don’t want use a service account between the server and sql.

The double hop is preventing me from doing that.

Any thought?

Tableau Server and SQL databases are on separate servers. If I move them to the same server, will that prevent this issue? or is that not a good idea?

• 1. Re: Tableau Server Double Hop issue to Sql Server
          Carisa Chang

Hi Abby,

Could you elaborate on what you mean by 'double hop'? Tableau Server should be able to pass your credentials to SQL Server, the exact method would depend on the authentication method you choose.

• 2. Re: Tableau Server Double Hop issue to Sql Server
            Abby Palcer

What is the issue?

I have a Tableau Report setup to run against a SQL Server.  When I run it locally on my Tableau Desktop, I have no issue accessing the database.   However, when I deployed the report to the server and tried to run the report from the server I get Login Failed for the Server. (Login failed for user 'Network\ServerName$).

Once we saw that error, we added a Service account  to the Tableau Server.

On the Tableau Admin site  -> under the Security Tab -> On the Run as Service Account tab:

The Run as Service Account is set to User Account. The account I am using is a service account.

I tried to run the report again from the server.  Now I get the same error as above. However, instead of telling me login failed for the Server, it is telling me login failed for the service account.

So I granted the service account read only access to the database.