6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2018 1:07 PM by tadd.wagner

Is Tableau Reader or Tableau Server better for this scenario?

tadd.wagner

Hi there,

I have built a fairly involved dashboard that is very quick on my desktop version of Tableau. However, when I publish it to the server for our team to use, it is much slower. It is still usable, but significantly slower to the point that it's a bit frustrating/annoying.

I have no experience with Tableau Reader, and I only know the basics about it. Would it make more sense for the few people that will regularly be using this dashboard to download Tableau Reader and have me send the packaged workbook weekly? (significant updates take place weekly for the data source)

Is Tableau Reader any faster than Server?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Is Tableau Reader or Tableau Server better for this scenario?
          Zach Leber

Tableau Reader will be the same speed as Tableau Desktop with an extract. Tableau Server is usually faster than Tableau Desktop unless it is overloaded or has a slow connection to your data source. What's your data source, how big is it, where is it located relative to Server, and are you using an extract?

• 2. Re: Is Tableau Reader or Tableau Server better for this scenario?
            tadd.wagner

I'm personally using Tableau Desktop 2018.2. A live connection. When I have the Workbook opened on my desktop and go to "Data Source", it says "Connected to Tableau Server as Tadd Wagner."

I'm not sure of exact size. I think it's coming from SQL server.

When I went to publish, I did get this note by the way:

"Warning: Server is running an older version than your copy of Tableau Desktop. The workbook will be downgraded on the server and may lose some functionality..."

• 3. Re: Is Tableau Reader or Tableau Server better for this scenario?
              Zach Leber