6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2018 5:49 PM by Ken Flerlage

Filtering a month column to show amounts less than

Megan Talley

Hello!  I'm a Tableau newbie, and I'm needing help with something that was really simple for me to do in Excel, however, i'm having a hard time figuring out how to do it in Tableau.  I have a cross tab report set up showing technicians sales by month (see image below).  I have Month name in the columns, technician name in the rows, and the sum of 'invoice gross amount' in the text.  I need my report to show all the technicians who had sales under $9,000 in the month of August.  So, in Excel, I would just filter the 'Aug' column to show only sales <$9,000.  I know that I will need to create a calculated field for this in Tableau, however, I can't figure out how to word the calculated field.

Any help is much appreciated.  Thank you!Cross Tab Example.PNG

• 1. Re: Filtering a month column to show amounts less than
          Ken Flerlage

Tableau works a bit differently than Excel, so some things that seemed easy in Excel may seem difficult in Tableau at first, at least until you start to understand how it works under the covers. After that, I think you'll find that Tableau is very powerful and makes a lot of your data work much easier than Excel. That said, to do this, you'll need to create a calculated field that will give you August only. It would look something like this:

If [Month]=8 THEN

[Sales]

End

You can then take this field and drag it up to filters. It should change that filter to a SUM and will allow you to select anything greater than 9000.

Note: If you can share your packaged workbook, then we can show exactly how to do it with your data.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Filtering a month column to show amounts less than
            Megan Talley