7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2018 5:13 AM by Ken Flerlage

Data source changes

Pinaz Jain

Hi all,

I am new to tableau and need some help with the issue.

Scenario : I have to publish a dashboard on server for which data sources are various excel files saved in my network shared drive.

These excel files are updated by few of other team members daily. By this I mean, they delete the old one and new file is made with same format of data daily.

Before I purchase server address, want some clarifications on below issues which might come afterwards.

Issues:

1. Can we make live/scheduled data connection between shared drive's data and server dashboard ?

2. As the source data files are changing daily, how to manage this? Will keeping the same naming format of excel file can maintain the connection?

Please help!!!

Thanks in advance!

Pinaz

• 1. Re: Data source changes
          Ken Flerlage

I'd suggest that, in Tableau Desktop, you create an extracted data source based on these files, then publish that data source to Tableau Server. Also, schedule a regular refresh of that data source. You'll need to make sure that the file have the same names in order for this to work.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Data source changes
            Ritesh Bisht

Issues:

1. Can we make live/scheduled data connection between shared drive's data and server dashboard ?

Yes, you can make , I have also done that in my project.

2. As the source data files are changing daily, how to manage this? Will keeping the same naming format of excel file can maintain the connection?

1) Yes you are right , same name .

2) We used to maintain older excels in the sub-folder with name_date.xls in case you want to review the older files.

3) You can always schedule a refresh extract at a particular time.

Also you can refresh and post at the time of data source swapping (depends upon your requirements )

Thanks,

Ritesh