2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2018 11:30 PM by Zhifeng Koh

How can I display lat/long coordinates from different datasets in different colors on the same map?

Zhifeng Koh

Hi there,

I'm very new to Tableau so please bear with me. I just learned how to create Point Distribution maps from geospatial coordinates (latitude/longitude), exactly like this example: Create Maps that Highlight Visual Clusters of Data in Tableau.

I am trying to display geospatial coordinates from different data sets, each set representing a different type of entity. In this case, I have three data sets of geospatial coordinates.

1. Startup Dataset: Coordinates representing the addresses of about 2400 startups.
      2. Investors Dataset: Coordinates representing the registered offices of about 160 investors.
      3. Accelerators Dataset: Coordinates representing the registered offices of about 70 accelerators.

I can create the initial point distribution map, just like the example given above, using the first data source (Startups). On my map, I have colored them green.

However, what I want to do now is to display the coordinates of the Investors data set as well. I want to display Investors data points in blue instead of green.

The Investors and Accelerators data sets currently come from different data sources. I can combine all three data sets into one, but then my question becomes: How do I tell Tableau that these coordinates represent different entities, and therefore should be colored differently?

I've tried to read up on and search for this task, including such helpful external articles such as The Vizioneer: Day 3: Dual Axis Maps - Filled and Points, but I can't seem to do it. 

Thanks so much in advance!

Zhi

• 1. Re: How can I display lat/long coordinates from different datasets in different colors on the same map?
          Tim Dines