6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2018 6:13 AM by Koby Obeng

Tableau server repository

Koby Obeng

Hi all,

On a tableau server with many sites. I am a site administrator (not a server administrator) on one of the sites. I need to access the database in the tableau server repository either a a tableau user or a readonly user (preferred) to develop custom administrative views to enhance user experience from an IT perspective. Is this possible, (knowing the security paradigm in tableau server is segregated on the basis of site)

• 1. Re: Tableau server repository
          Matt Coles

No, there's no access enforced at the postgreSQL repository layer that would allow you direct access to only your Site's information and not the others, unless you implemented your own export of site-specific data into another data store.

BUT! You can ask your Server administrator to open postgreSQL access and use these Shareable Data Sources for Tableau Server that they could set user-filters on such that you could only see your own Site's data when you connected to them. The calculation used as the filter would need to be manually tweaked, with logic mapping each Site to the person who should have access to it.

If that's an approach that seems worth pursuing, I can provide some examples.

• 2. Re: Tableau server repository
            Koby Obeng

Hi Matt,

Thanks for the prompt reply. That sounds like something I would like to explore and would very much like to see the example on that. Also, I am assuming that this approach will still give me access to data on only my site correct! If so, will this approach be the same as downloading the log files on my tableau server site if I actually have access to that in the first place?

• 3. Re: Tableau server repository
              Matt Coles

I am assuming that this approach will still give me access to data on only my site correct!

Yes, that is correct.