14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2018 11:29 AM by tadd.wagner

Executive Level Alert Dashboard

tadd.wagner

Hi all,

I am trying to recreate/modify a neat dashboard that I found here: Tableau 201: 3 Ways to Add Alerts to Your Dashboards

I have been struggling the past 8 hours on getting this setup. I can easily do this in Excel, but I'm still fairly new to Tableau. I would love to have it in Tableau so that this would update automatically every week.

See below:

Above the purple line, this is what I currently have in Tableau (took me longer than it should have to get here, but hey, I'm learning! )

Below the purple line is a mock-up of what I would like to have for my dashboard, where the green means this week is really good in comparison the the average of the past 12 weeks and red is not good.

Below that is a screenshot from the link I have been referencing (shared above). Any suggestions on how to get past what I have above the purple line to my final product?

Our data comes in daily, labeled as "Invoice Date."

• 1. Re: Executive Level Alert Dashboard
          Ankit Patel

Hi Tadd,

This is very easy to put together in Tableau. You need to create a calculated field to define your alert condition. Once you have that you can put the view together by selecting Mark as Circle and dropping the condition calc to Color mark card and metric pill to Label mark card.

See below sample from Superstore - I have attached the workbook as well if you want to follow along on how it was created (workbook is in version 10.5)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Executive Level Alert Dashboard
            tadd.wagner

Hi Ankit,