3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2018 9:50 AM by Okechukwu Ossai

comparing string dimensions column A from two different rows based upon dimension in column b

LISA MOORE

So grateful for this forum and I'm new to data analytics and new to Tableau in the last 3 months,  Any help is appreciated. 

I have a data source with Name, Date, Eye Color.  If the eye color of the Name changed to any of the from/to combinations listed below, the created calculation column "Eye color change Alert" should result in 1 in the row of the most recent date.  Always compare the two most recent dates from the date column.  Always comparing the eye color of the same person name.  Sample data results are below.  My actual data is thousands of rows long and is proprietary to my company. 

from Blue to Red

from Green to blue

from Brown to green

I cannot Pivot the data. The data source is not creating new pivot columns,  It is augmenting the existing columns that I'm trying to pivot, which is negatively affecting other existing data sheets using those columns. 

Name

Date

Eye color

Eye Color Change Alert

lisa

8/11

blue

John

8/11

red

katie

8/11

Green

Mary

8/11

brown

lisa

8/16

red

John

8/16

Red

katie

8/16

blue

mary

8/16

Green

lisa

8/5

blue

John

8/5

red

katie

8/5

Green

Mary

8/5

brown

• 1. Re: comparing string dimensions column A from two different rows based upon dimension in column b
          Okechukwu Ossai

Hi Lisa,

The formula below could do it for you. See attached workbook.

[Eye Color Change Alert]

IF LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), -1) = 'Blue' AND LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), 0) = 'Red' THEN 1

ELSEIF LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), -1) = 'Green' AND LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), 0) = 'Blue' THEN 1

ELSEIF LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), -1) = 'Brown' AND LOOKUP(ATTR([Eye color]), 0) = 'Green' THEN 1

ELSE 0 END